What is a googol year?

Believe it or not, mathematicians use numbers much bigger than 1 trillion. In 1938, a 9-year-old boy named Milton Sirotta, who was the nephew of American mathematician Edward Kasner, invented a new number that he called a googol. According to Milton, a googol is 10100, or 1 followed by 100 zeroes!

---

A "Google" like Google internet search engine, represents the infinitesimal like it did in 1920; fixed at 10 with 100 zeros. Numbers today are much, much higher (centillion: 10 with 303 zeros, etc.) A googol year simply represents an infinitesimal idea in years of time.