What's cardboard made out of?

Cardboard is made of softwood trees stripped of their bark, mulched into wood chips, pulped with water, turned into a slurry, mixed with a natural glue, and sometimes bleached before getting rolled out into rolls of sheets. Nowadays, recycled cardboard is used to make new cardboard.