Why do ferrets bite?

A ferret may bite because of pain, but they may also bite to get attention. When you are busy and the ferret wants to play, it is common for them to nip your foot or ankle to say “Hey! Small nips or gentle play-biting is normal for ferrets. It is when the animal bites hard that something is awry.