What's the difference between a gamete a sweet potato?

Although commonly used interchangeably, the yam is related to the lily and is sweeter than the sweet potato, which is related to the morning glory. Yams have brown or black skin with rounded ends, while sweet potatoes have light orange skin and tapered ends.