What's the difference between defrost and thaw?

Defrost means to release from the frozen state while to thaw means to cause to become free from the effects of cold through exposure to warmth (verb).

---

To thaw something is to take the time to get it to room temp by moving from freezer to fridge to room taking a few days. To defrost something is to thaw it fast, by running a frozen package under warm water ot putting it in the microwave.