How valuable is a ruby?

Fine-quality rubies are some of the most expensive gemstones, with record ruby prices over $1,000,000 per carat. Rubies are also subjected to more treatments than almost any other gem. For this reason, ruby prices can range from a few hundred dollars a carat to thousands of dollars per carat.