How small is the smallest bird?

The smallest bird is the bee hummingbird of Cuba and the Isle of Youth. Males measure 57 mm (2.24 in) in total length, half of which is taken up by the bill and tail, and weigh 1.6 g. Females are slightly larger. This is believed to be the lowest weight limit for any warm blooded animal.