How long do you cook beans in a smoker?

Place beans in a large pot; cover with fresh water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer gently until beans are tender but firm. Most beans will cook in 45 minutes to 2 hours depending on the variety. , try a taste test or mash a bean against the side of the pot with a fork or spoon.