How do you untie a gordian knot?

The Gordian Knot was a legendary knot that could not be untied by anyone. Anyone who could unravel the knot was prophesied to become ruler of all Asia. Alexander the Great solved the knot by cutting it in half with his sword, reasoning that it didn't matter how the knot was untied, just that it was.