What is the history of fiji?

Fiji was first settled around 3,500 years ago by Melanesians. Europeans first visited in the 17th Century and the British took control of the colony in 1874. Fiji gained independence in 1970 and became a republic in 1987 following a coup d'etat. The first democratic election was held in 2014.