What causes blossom end rot in tomatoes?

This garden problem is not a disease, but a physiological disorder caused by a calcium imbalance within the plant. Add a calcium supplement to the soil when planting. Do not wait until rot appears. The plant needs to begin absorbing the calcium as it grows. Once rot appears, you cannot cure it.