Who became president when nixon resigned?

Gerald Ford became president when Nixon resigned in 1974 and was the only U S president who was never elected to that position, as he was defeated in 1976 by Jimmy Carter

---

Gerald R. Ford, the second vice president under Nixon, became president when Nixon resigned his office.

---

Gerald Ford became president on August 9, 1974 after Richard Nixon resigned.