Why do babies have nightmares?

Babies go through the same dream cycles as adults, but their brains are establishing far more connections in the same period of time. Unpleasant experiences (hunger, intestinal discomfort, surprise) receive extra connections and have no context yet, so the babies sort them out as nightmares.