What is organic farming?

In the United States, the United States Department of Agriculture has a set of laws that must be followed and certified before a farmer can claim they are organic. Organic farming often involves no GMOs, no antibiotics, no synthetic hormones, and no synthetic chemicals.

---

Organic farming also known as ecological farming or biological farming, is an agricultural system that uses fertilizers of organic origin such as compost manure, green manure, and bone meal and places emphasis on techniques such as crop rotation and companion planting.