Are there any poisonous snakes in illinois?

According to Illinois DNR, there are four kinds of venomous snakes in Illinois; the Copperhead, the Water Moccasin or Cottonmouth, the Timber Rattlesnake, and the Massasauga. The Massasauga is considered endangered in the state.

---

Yes. Water moccasins sometimes called Cottonmouth are the most common. Rattlesnakes are found mostly in southern Illinois.