What is salford molasses?

Molasses was once treated with sulfur dioxide as a preservative, helping to kill off molds and bacteria. The move has been away from using sulfured molasses due to the relatively stable natural shelf life of untreated molasses, and the 'off' flavor and trace toxicity of low doses of sulfur dioxide