What happened on march first two thousand eleven?

U.S. President Barack Obama announces in a media statement that Osama bin Laden, the founder and leader of the militant group Al-Qaeda and the most-wanted fugitive on the U.S. list, was killed by U.S. forces during an American military operation in Pakistan.