How long does it take to defrost a prime rib?

You should use the following guidelines. Allow 12 to 24 hours to defrost steaks, depending on thickness. Allow 4 to 7 hours per pound to defrost large roasts or thick compact pot roasts. Allow 3 to 5 hours per pound to defrost small roasts or thin pot roasts.