How do you train a dragon in minecraft?

Hatch a dragon egg. This can take some time. Once grown, tame the dragon with raw fish. It will then follow and protect you like other pets. You can command tamed dragons to lay down or stand up with the bone item. Use a saddle and right click it without holding an action item to ride a tame dragon.