What is spa stand for?

It originated during the Roman Empire, when soldiers sought out hot springs and built baths to heal their aching bodies; calling these places ‘aquae’ and naming the treatment there ‘Sanus Per Aquam’ (SPA)- meaning ‘health by or through water’. During this period, the town Spa in Belgium was founded.