What makes dijon mustard dijon?

Traditional yellow mustard is made using white mustard seeds and vinegar. Dijon is made using brown mustard seeds and verjuice, the very acidic juice of unripe grapes, instead of vinegar, which gives it its characteristic Dijon flavor. Modern Dijon may contain imitation verjuice as a substitute.