How do you prepare whole turkey?

Thaw the turkey. Remove the giblets and neck from inside turkey. Pat skin dry. Rub all over with butter, then salt and pepper turkey. Place in baking pan, cook in pre-warmed oven at 325°F, for 3.5 - 4 hours. Baste twice with drippings in last half hour. Turkey is done when thermometer says 165°F