How many brain cells are in the human body?

The most common brain cells are neurons and non-neuron cells called glia. The average adult human brain has approximately 100 billion neurons, and just as many if not more glia. Although neurons are the most famous brain cells, both neurons and glial cells are necessary for proper brain function.