Why do crickets make that noise?

Male crickets produce sounds by rubbing their leathery front wings together, i.e., file-like serrations on the wings' edges rub against a sharp edge (scraper). This is called “stridulation” and is used to attract female crickets. When this sound is being produced, the cricket's wings are elevated.