Why is bloody mary called bloody mary?

Mary, the 1st Queen of England, was known as “Bloody Mary.” The nickname was due to her persecution of Protestant heretics, whom she barbarically burned at the stake by the hundreds during her 5 year reign.

---

Mary Tudor, or Mary I of England is remembered for the hundreds of Protestants she murdered in the name of Catholicism. This is how she got her nickname "Bloody Mary." The cocktail is supposedly named after her.