What's an unsubsidized loan?

Unsubsidized Loans are loans for both undergraduate and graduate students that are not based on financial need. Eligibility is determined by your cost of attendance minus other financial aid (such as grants or scholarships). Interest is charged during in-school, deferment, and grace periods.

---

An unsubsidized student loan is one in which the interest starts accruing the moment you or your school receive the loan funds. That means interest starts adding up the first day that the payment is made. The cost is then added to the principal of the loan, which is called capitalization.