How did they make metal?

Metals exist in the Earth's crust. ... Simply put, if you dig into the soil and/or collect rocks, you're likely to find metals because that's where they're found in nature. Metals tend to form compounds, aka minerals. These are naturally occurring solids made of chemicals and crystal structures.