What does a sidious lie mean?

Insidious, spelled I-N-S-I-D-I-O-U-S, means doing harm in a gradual, subtle way. Thus, an "insidious lie" would be a subtle lie, most often presented as merely a biased rendition of the truth, that does increasing amounts of harm over a long period of time.