What does the name trooper mean?

In Canada, and several other Commonwealth countries, a trooper is a Private-ranked soldier of a military unit with cavalry traditions. It is also used as a general term for someone who works with determination to achieve a goal. “She was a real trooper, working the weekend to finish the essay”.