Is the german shepherd the smartest dog?

The three smartest dog breeds, as measured by their ability to absorb commands in less than 5 repetitions and obey them 95% of the time or better . . are as follows: Border Collie . . . . Poodle . . . . and German Shepard. So, German Shepards are the third smartest.