Are burger sandwiches?

Merriam-Webster defines a sandwich as two or more slices of bread or a split roll having a filling between. Wiki describes it as a food…wherein bread serves as a container/wrapper for another food type. Based on these definitions, a burger is a sandwich, but a sandwich is not necessarily a burger.