Was nicolas flamel a real person?

Yes. Nicholas Flamel was a prosperous scribe who lived from 1330 to 1418 in Paris, France. He and his wife were known for their generosity, but there is no evidence that he was deeply involved in alchemy. Those stories began circulating more than 200 years after his death.