What's the difference between wool and cashmere?

While wool comes from sheep, cashmere comes from goats: cashmere goats, pashmina goats, and some other breeds. The fibers are also referred to as “cashmere wool,” which can be confusing. A good way to think about it is that all cashmere is wool, but not all wool is cashmere.