Is g. i. f. pronounced gif or gif?

According to Steve Wilhite who created the Graphics Interchange Format in 1987 while working for Compuserve, "It's pronounced JIF, not GIF." as he stated during his Webby Award acceptance speech in 2013. He has reiterated it is pronounced JIF several times over the years.