Who is solomon rusty?

Salman Rushdie is an Indian-born British-American novelist. His fourth novel, The Satanic Verses, in 1988, saw Rushdie become the subject of several assassination attempts and death threats, including a fatwa calling for his death issued by the Ayatollah Khomeini, supreme leader of Iran.