Why does walter brennan limp?

While Walter Brennan was preparing for his role in “To Have and Have Not”, his friend, sound effects technician Jack Foley suggested to him that he put a rock in his shoe to create a limp. Brennan did so and that is how he learned his rather genuine-looking fake limp.