What is cinnamon cassia?

Cinnamomum cassia, called Chinese cassia or Chinese cinnamon, is an evergreen tree originating in southern China, and widely cultivated there and elsewhere in South and Southeast Asia. It is one of several species of Cinnamomum used primarily for their aromatic bark, which is used as a spice.