What is a quasi experiment?

Like a true experiment, a quasi-experiment aims to establish a cause-and-effect relationship between an independent and dependent variable. Unlike a true experiment, a quasi-experiment does not rely on random assignment. Instead, subjects are assigned to groups based on non-random criteria.