How do you activate the end portal in minecraft?

The end portal is composed of end portal frame blocks. They spawn either empty or filled with an eye of ender. In order to activate the portal, the player must right-click on the empty blocks with eyes of ender to fill them. Once all 12 blocks are full, the portal will open.