What was the rape of nan king?

The Nanking Massacre, or the Rape of Nanking, was the mass rape and murder of Chinese civilians in Nanking by the Imperial Japanese Army, starting December 13, 1937, and lasting 6 weeks. There were over 200,000 victims killed, and 20,000 cases of rape.