What types of shellfish are there?

Shellfish are generally divided into two groups, crustaceans and mollusks. Crustaceans include shrimp, crabs, crayfish, lobster and other similar aquatic animals. Examples of mollusks are clams, oysters, scallops and mussels. Mollusks also includes squid and octopus species.