What's a fruit current?

Currants are tiny edible berries that grow in clusters on stems. They vary in color from deep, dark purple to brilliant red, and almost a translucent white. They are smaller than dried grapes and have a deep berry flavor. Currants are used in tarts and pies and other desserts like sorbets and jams.