Who is jayhawk?

The term "Jayhawk" was originally a term used by pro-slavery Kansans to describe Free State supporters during the "Bleeding Kansas" period in the 1850s. Over time, "Jayhawk" lost its war-like connotations and Kansans came to embrace the title as a term of endearment.