What is a metamorphic rock?

Mineral material that has been transformed usually by high pressure and heat.

---

Metamorphic rocks started out as some other type of rock, but have been modified from their original igneous, sedimentary, or earlier metamorphic form. Metamorphic rocks form when rocks are subjected to high heat, high pressure, hot mineral-rich fluids or, some combination of these factors.