Why was world war one started?

When Archduke Franz Ferdinand was assassinated, this sparked off the July Crisis. When Austria-Hungary declared war on Serbia, Russia declared war on Austria-Hungary. In response Germany declared war on Russia, as well as France and Belgium. Britain then declared war on Germany in support of France.