How much energy is in a lightning bolt?

An average bolt of lightning, striking from cloud to ground, contains roughly one billion (1,000,000,000) joules of energy. This is no small amount, enough to power a 60-watt lightbulb for six months plus a forgotten open door refrigerator for a day.

---

The energy of an average lightning bolt is about 23.5 kilowatt hours. With the energy of an average lightning bolt, a 100-watt light bulb would run for just under 10 days, but would not power a small town for an hour.