Where did the term sloppy joe come from?

research at the Carnegie Library suggests that the sloppy joe's origins lie with the "loose meat sandwiches" sold in Sioux City, Iowa, in the 1930s and were the creation of a cook named Joe. References to sloppy joes as sandwiches begin by the 1940s.