What's the weapon in fencing?

There are three types of swords used in fencing. A foil, whose origins are as a training sword; an épée, whose origins was for dueling; and lastly, a saber, the combat sword of a mounted knight. Each sword is distinct from the other, having their own characteristics, rules for use, and strategies.