Why are the trees speaking vietnamese?

The Trees Speak in Vietnamese is a catchphrase referring to how in the Vietnam War, Americans struggled with the guerilla warfare of the Viet Cong who would often fight in dense jungle, leading to the anxious phrase "The trees speak in Vietnamese".