Where does the expression on cloud nine come from?

The International Cloud Atlas of 1896 listed 10 types of clouds. The ninth cloud was a cumulonimbus, which could reach a height of 6.2 miles above the earth, the highest altitude of all the clouds. It has been suggested that a feeling of elation puts one on cloud nine because they feel so high.